Anthropology

Department of Anthropology Faculty & Staff

Anthropology Faculty 2015

Dr. Eleanora (Nora) Reber
Associate Professor of Archaeology, Chair

Pottery residue, Southeastern Archaeology, plant domestication, ancient foodways, rise of complex societies

PhD, Anthropology, Harvard University, 2001

MA, Anthropology, Harvard University, 2001

BS, Archaeology and Chemistry, Beloit College, 1995

rebere@uncw.edu

910.962.7734

Osprey Hall 1018L

Dr. A. Midori Albert
Associate Professor of Biological Anthropology
Forensic Science Minor Coordinator

Forensic Anthropology, Age-related craniofacial morphological variation in face recognition technology, skeletal age estimation, bilateral asymmetry in growth and maturation

PhD, Anthropology, University of Colorado Boulder, 1995

MA, Anthropology, University of Florida, 1993

BS, Pscyhology, University of Florida, 1990

albertm@uncw.edu

910.962.7078

Osprey Hall 1018C

Dr. William L. Alexander
Associate Professor of Cultural Anthropology

Political Ecology, Economic Anthropology, Environmental Anthropology, Political Economy, Latin America (Chile, US/Mexico border), Migrant farmworkers in North Carolina

PhD, Anthropology, University of Arizona, 2000

MA, Anthropology, University of Arizona, 1989

BS, University of Southern Mississippi, 1985

alexanderw@uncw.edu

910.962.2227

Osprey Hall 1018H

Dr. Cynthia Bellacero
Part-time Faculty of Archaeology

Mesoamerican Archaeology, Archaeobotany, Underwater Archaeology, Historic Archaeology

PhD, Anthropology, Florida State University, 2010

MA, Anthropology, East Carolina University, 2004

BS, Anthropology, East Carolina University, 2001

bellaceroc@uncw.edu 252.638.7328


Dr. Rebecca Adkins Fletcher
Lecturer of Cultural Anthropology

Critcal Regionalism- Southern US, Appalachian Economic transformation, Applied Medical Anthropology- health disparities, gender & health, health insurance & policy

PhD, Anthropology, University of Kentucky, 2011

Certificate of Women's and Gender Studies, University of Kentucky, 2009

MA, Anthropology, University of , 2003

MS, Biological Sciences, East Tennessee State University, 1998

BS, Biological Sciences, ETSU, 1994

fletcherr@uncw.edu

910.962.3705

Osprey Hall 1018G

Dr. Michaela Howells
Assistant Professor of Biological Anthropology

Reproduction, Maternal & Child health, Inteergenerational effects of stress, Growth & Development: Human Variation, Medical Anthropology, Health Education, Status inequality, American Samoa, Senegal, Indonesia

PhD, Anthropology, University of Colorado Boulder, 2013

Certificate in College Teaching, University of Colorado Boulder, 2013

MA, Anthropology, Iowa State University, 2006

BA, Anthropology, Central Washington State University, 2002

BS, Primate Behavior & Ecology, Central Washington State University, 2002

howellsm@uncw.edu

910.962.3431

Osprey Hall 1018D

Dr. Barbara Michael
Adjunct Faculty in Cultural Anthropology

Middle East Anthropology, Pastorlists/Nomads Documentary Filmmaking, Economic Anthropology, Traditional Medicine, Visual Anthropology; Museums

PhD, Anthropology, University of Kansas, 1987

MA, Anthropology, University of Oklahoma

BA, Anthropology, University of Oklahoma

MLS, Library Science, University of Oklahoma

Certificate in Documentary Film, Duke University, 2007

michaelb@uncw.edu Osprey Hall 1018B

John Navarra
Adjunct Faculty in Anthropology

Osteology, Cultural Resistance Movements & Government Manipulation of Western Society

MA, Anthropology, East Carolina University, 2006

BA, Anthropology, University of North Carolina Wilmington, 2003

navarraj@uncw.edu Osprey Hall 1018B

Elizabeth Penton
Adjunct Faculty in Cultural Anthropology

Non-western & Prehistroic Image Making

pentone@uncw.edu

Dr. Carolyn Jost Robinson
Assistant Professor of Biological Anthropology

Ethnoprimatology, Multispecies Ethnography, Human Behavioral Ecology, Primatology, Political Ecology

PhD, Anthropology, Purdue University, 2012

MS, Anthropology, Purdue University

BA, Anthropology, University of Colorado Boulder

robinsonc@uncw.edu

910.962.3532

Osprey Hall 1018F

Dr. Scott E. Simmons
Associate Professor of Archaeology

Mayan Archaeology, Archaeometallurgy, Coastal trade, political economy

PhD, Anthropology, University of Colorado Boulder, 1996

MA, Historical Archaeology, University of Massachusetts, 1991

BA, Anthropology, State University of New York Plattsburgh, 1984

simmonss@uncw.edu

910.962.3429

Osprey Hall 1018K

Melissa A. Torpey
Adjunct Faculty in Biological Anthropology

Forensic Anthropology, Skeletal Age Estimation, Race & Ethnicity

MS in Forensic Anthropology, Michigan State University, 2006.

BA, Anthropology, University of North Carolina Wilmington, 2004

torpeym@uncw.edu

Kathryn (Kat) Stewart
Department Administrative Associate

BS, Mass Communications; Journalism,
Virginia Commonwealth University 2009

stewartk@uncw.edu

910-.962.7716

Osprey Hall 1018E


Emeritus Faculty


James C. Sabella
Professor Emeritus
sabellaj@uncw.edu


Robert D. McCall
Professor Emeritus
mccall@uncw.edu


Patricia B. Lerch
Professor Emeritus
lerch@uncw.edu