UNC Wilmington and Regional Schools to Renew Regional Schools Partnership Thursday

Thursday, June 07, 2012

Since 1989, the University of North Carolina Wilmington's Watson School of Education has worked closely with regional schools and school districts, partnering on school improvement and teacher preparation projects. On Thursday, a signing ceremony will be held to renew this commitment for another three years.

The signing ceremony, which will officially renew the university's partnerships with regional P-12 schools, will take place Thursday, June 7 at 1 p.m. in the Education Building's Legacy Hall.

The Watson School of Education (WSE) works with these regional schools to improve the quality of education and teacher preparation for this region. The partnership allows UNCW students to serve as interns and student teachers within the partner school districts, as well as provides low-to-no cost training and development for educators within the partner schools.

"These partnerships provide a way for school districts to gain a better understanding of teacher preparation at the university level and allow university faculty to understand the skills that are needed in local classrooms. The university and local educators work collaboratively to promote best practices in education, understand the larger social, political, and economic context of education, and equip students with the critical thinking skills necessary to adapt to change," said Donyell Roseboro, director of the WSE Professional Development System.

The partnerships involve 133 regional schools from 12 school systems and two charter schools in Southeastern North Carolina. Contracts must be renewed every three years. The first official university-school partnerships were signed in 1993 with Brunswick and Duplin counties.

Remarks will be provided by UNCW Chancellor Gary Miller and Watson School Dean Kenneth Teitelbaum before the signing ceremony.

School systems involved in the signing include Brunswick County, Camp Lejeune, Carteret County, Clinton City, Columbus County, Duplin County, Jones County, New Hanover County, Onslow County, Pender County, Sampson County, Whiteville City, Cape Fear Center for Inquiry and Charter Day School of Brunswick County.


Media Contact:
William Davis, University Relations, 910-962-2654 or davisw@uncw.edu