2013 Honors Faculty Mentor Award

Dr. Kemppainen


Dr. Jeanne Kemppainen, Irwin Belk Distinguished Professor in the School of Nursing was the 2013 recipient of the Honors Faculty Mentor Award.  Dr. Kemppainen’s research interest focuses upon self-management in chronic illness in rural and vulnerable populations. During the 2012-2013 academic year Dr. Kemppainen served as the faculty mentor for Lauren A. Phillips, Nursing Major with Minors in Spanish and Psychology and Mariah Porcher Whisenhunt, Nursing Major.   The title of Lauren’s senior honors project was “Spirituality in College Students at Risk for Eating Disorders” and the title of Mariah’s senior project was “Anesthesia Awareness Detection and Prevention:  Implications for Nurse Anesthetists.”  Dr. Kemppainen received her award at the May 10, 2013 Honors College Award Ceremony.

The Honors Faculty Mentor Award is intended to recognize demonstrated excellence in mentoring undergraduate researchers, to encourage mentoring relationships with undergraduate students, and to convey the campus’ high regard for such contributions made by the faculty of the academic and research community.  Faculty mentors may be nominated by students who are graduating with honors in the current semester and also must be recommended by a faculty colleague.  Faculty must have a continuing record of successful undergraduate mentoring in honors level work.  As many faculty notes, mentoring undergraduates in the honors project is some of the most engage and rewarding teaching they do.  Review of applications is by members of the Student and Faculty Honors Advisory Councils.


Information included herein was adapted from the May 2010 Honors College Celebration Program.  

UNC Wilmington | 601 S. College Road, Wilmington NC 28403 | 910.962.3000 | About this Site | Copyright Notice | Feedback | Page maintained by:  M. Wadkins [ wadkinm AT uncw DOT edu ]