Travel on university business
All reimbursed university travel must follow university travel policies.
Operation and use of sate-owned vehicles
When travel for university business is feasible by car, a state car (if available) should be used instead of a private car. State-owned vehicles shall be used for official state business only. Requests for the use of state vehicles must be authorized prior to the beginning day of travel by appropriate signature(s) on the "Travel Authorization and Advance" form. Vehicles will not be released unless a properly completed and approved "Vehicle Request and Invoice" form is received by UNCW Motor Fleet at least one day prior to the planned trip. A copy of a valid North Carolina driver's license for the vehicle driver must be on file with the UNCW Motor Fleet Office at least one day prior to the release of any state vehicle. (Insurance regulations allow incoming faculty/staff to drive Motor Fleet vehicles during their first 30 days of employment on their prior states' licenses.)
Vehicle operation in North Carolina
New faculty members coming from other states should immediately update their driver's license and automobile registration. Some states have reciprocity agreements for certain periods of time with North Carolina; others do not. The local Division of Motor Vehicles Office at 791-4292 or at 763-1139 can answer most questions regarding vehicle operation in North Carolina. Penalties can be assessed for non-compliance.
Vehicles operated on campus must be registered with Parking Administration within 48 hours after the employee begins work. The employee may obtain a temporary decal for 30-days at no cost. Upon the expiration of the temporary decal, it will be necessary for the employee to purchase a permanent parking decal.
The duration of the permanent parking decal is based on the academic year. The cost to the employee is established by a committee and approved by the UNCW Board of Trustees. Permanent parking decals are renewable at the beginning of each academic year.