seahawk sculpture


Mailing Address:

University Innovation Council
University of North Carolina Wilmington
601 S. College Rd.
Alderman 111
Wilmington, NC 28403-5900

University Innovation Council

The University Innovation Council (UIC) vigorously mine ideas for innovation among all university programs, develop and analyze candidate innovations including incentive strategies, and make recommendations to the Cabinet and Chancellor about promising innovations that may improve the quality of our programs and save money and time or increase revenues.

A secondary function of the UIC is to advise the Cabinet on issues of strategic importance to the university. 

The UIC is supported by a Technical Support Group chaired by Vice Provost Steve McFarland and the University Budget Committee chaired by Provost Denise Battles and Vice Chancellor for Business Affairs Charlie Maimone.

University Innovation Council Members

Denise Battles, co-chair
Provost and vice chancellor for Academic Affairs
Rick Whitfield, co-chair
Vice chancellor for Business Affairs
Max Allen
Chief of Staff
Philip Gerard
Creative Writing, department chair
Charles Hardy
College of Health and Human Services, dean
Mark Lanier
Assistant to the chancellor
Ron Vetter

Associate Provost of research and dean of Graduate School

Rebecca Caldwell
Student Affairs

Jessica Magnus
Cameron School of Business, associate professor

Eleni Pappamihiel

Instructional Technology, Foundations, and Secondary Education, associate professor

Cheryl Sutton
Business Affairs, HUB coordinator
Steve Swart
Business Affairs, assistant director

Jeff Costello


Alexis Bland


UNC Wilmington | 601 S. College Road, Wilmington NC 28403 | 910.962.3000 | About this Site | Copyright Notice | Feedback | Page maintained by:  S. McFarland [mcfarlands AT uncw DOT edu ]