Apply Today!

Students in Washington, DC.

The experience of a lifetime!

uncw office of
international programs

We are located in:
118 Friday Annex

Mailing Address:
Maike Walbrecht, Director
UNCW ESL Program
Office of International Programs
601 S. College Rd.
Wilmington, NC 28403-5965

Contact Us:
Phone: 910-962-7354
Fax: 910-962-4053
Email: walbrechtm@uncw.edu

 

Follow us

facebook icon

YouTube logo

 

Statue of Liberty at sunset

ESL Events

Fall 2015 Schedule of Events

 

August 15-17

Airport Pickups, shopping trip

August 19, Wednesday

10:00 a.m. ESL Orientation

August 20, Thursday

9:30 a.m. Classes begin; first class will tour classrooms 

August 24, Monday

10:00 a.m. Optional shopping trip; meet at Wagoner Parking Lot

1:00 p.m. Field Trip to Downtown Wilmington/Museum; then to Independence Mall: Meet at Wagoner Parking Lot

August 26, Wednesday

6:30 p.m. ESL Welcome Dinner Reception in Burney Center                                                            

August 29, Saturday

Music Event on Campus

August 31, Monday 12:30 p.m. Field Trip to Wrightsville Beach: meet at Wagoner Parking Lot
September 1, Tuesday Sister City Reception: meet the Mayor and MORE!

September 6, Sunday

To Be Determined

September 7, Monday

Labor Day state holiday

September 14, Monday

8:00 a.m. Field Trip: Public School Visits; Meet at Wag/Extended Stay

September 19, Saturday

9:30 a.m. Southport: ferry ride to local fishing village

September 21-23

Osaka Group School Visits/Observations

September 23

Graduation for 4-week program (time & place TBD)

September 24, Thursday

Osaka students depart for Japan

September 28, Monday

11:00 a.m. Field Trip to Fort Fisher Aquarium

September 29, Tuesday

Culture Schock Event Time TBD

October 5, Monday

Field Trip: Paint & Play or Serpentarium, times to be announced

October 12 - 13

Fall Break, no classes on Tuesday

October 14, Wednesday

Classes Resume

October 19, Monday

Field Trip TBD

October 26, Monday

1:30 p.m. Field Trip: Ice Skating; meet at Wagoner Parking Lot or Poplar Grove Halloween or Pow Wow (To Be Decided "TBD")

October 30, Friday

Halloween Party with Conversation Partners & Family Members

November 2, Monday

Service Learning: Preschool or Surfrider Event TBD

November 9, Monday Service Learning: Urban Farm or Surfrider Event TBD
November 16, Monday Service Learning: Senior Center Play Performance & Crafts
November 25-27 Thanksgiving Break, no classes
November 30, Monday Last Field Trip: Student Choice
December 3, Thursday Testing and Evaluations
December 4, Friday Graduation, 2 - 4 pm
For changes/updates, see:

http://www.uncw.edu/international/esl/events.html

on the ESL web page!

 

 


UNC Wilmington | 601 S. College Road, Wilmington NC 28403 | 910.962.3000 | About this Site | Copyright Notice | Feedback | Page maintained by:  M. Walbrecht [ walbrechtm AT uncw DOT edu ]