Syllabus

MUSIC 115- Survey of Music

Instructor: Dr. Steven Errante
  web: www.uncw.edu/music/errantes
  e-mail: errantes@uncw.edu
  phone: 962-3399
  office: CA 1024
  hours:

immediately following class daily

Attendance: no attendance records are kept, but note policy below on missed quizzes or exams

Texts: Western Music Listening Today, Fourth Edition, Charles Hoffer. The text is connected with numerous resources on the publisher's web site. Links to other web materials will be given on my course web page.

Exams are indicated on the syllabus, but quizzes may be given with no prior announcement. Exams and quizzes will cover material covered in class and listening assignments made outside of class and cannot be made up unless there is an extreme personal emergency.

Class participation is a vital part of this course. The response to music is often a subjective one, so that diversity of opinion is encouraged as long as everyone maintains an open mind to unfamiliar types of music.

Grading: final grade is based on quiz and exam grades

Examination: June 16, 8 a.m.

GOALS OF THE COURSE

Exposure to a variety of musical types (primarily Western classical), with an emphasis on better listening and understanding. You will need to listen enough to the assigned works to be able to identify them on a "drop the needle" basis and also be able to comment on the most important characteristics of each. Memorization will be required of the starting and ending dates of each period and to which period each composer belongs.

SCHEDULE

Thu., May 14 The Nature of Music
Mon., May 18

The Nature of Music, Early, Medieval, and Renaissance Music  

Tue., May 19

Baroque Music

Wed., May 20

 

Thu., May 21

 

Mon., May 25 MEMORIAL DAY HOLIDAY, no class
Tue., May 26

EXAM. 1

Introduction to Classical Music

Wed., May 27

Classical Music

Thu., May 28

 

Mon., June 1

 

Tue., June 2

 

Wed., June 3

EXAM. 2

Introduction to Romantic Music

Thu., June 4

Romantic Music

Mon., June 8

 

Tue., June 9

 

Wed., June 10

EXAM. 3

Introduction to Twentieth-Century Music

Thu., June 11

Twentieth-Century Music

Mon., June 15

Review

Classical Music in Wilmington

Tue., June 16 FINAL EXAMINATION

The University of North Carolina at Wilmington is committed to the proposition that the pursuit of truth requires the presence of honesty among all involved. It is therefore this institution's stated policy that no form of dishonesty among its faculty or students will be tolerated. Although all members of the university community are encouraged to report occurences of dishonesty, each individual is principally responsible for his or her own honesty. UNCW practices a zero-tolerance policy for violence and harassment of any kind. For emergencies contact UNCW CARE at 962-2273, Campus Police at 962-3184,or Wilmington Police at 911. For University or community resourcesvisit http://uncw.edu/wrc/crisis.htm


Divider
Maintained by S. Errante ( )
Copyright Notice | About this Site
You are in: Music
Department of Music