University Planning and Quality Council


September 2, 2008

Members Present: Chancellor Rosemary DePaolo, Provost Brian Chapman, Dr. Debra Saunders-White, Dr. David Cordle, Mr. Larry Clark, Dr. Cathy Barlow, Dr. Susan Pierce, Dr. Robert Roer, Dr. Steve McFarland, Dr. Bruce McKinney, Dr. John Fischetti, Dr. Amy Kirschke, Dr. Dick Dillaman, Dr. Rob Burrus, Mr. William Fleming, Mr. Mark Blackwell, Mr. Max Allen, Mr. Mark Lanier, Ms. Nancy Jones and Dr. Kenneth Spackman.

Others Attending:  Ms. Lisa Castellino, Dr. Terry Curran, Dr. Nathan Lindsay and Ms. Kay Ward.

Chancellor DePaolo called the meeting to order at 2:00 pm.

The minutes of the May 6 meeting were approved as posted on the Web.

Chancellor DePaolo introduced and welcomed new members of the 2008-09 Planning Council: Brian Chapman, Charles Maimone, Susan Pierce, Bruce McKinney, Nancy Jones and Mark Blackwell.

Information Items 

1. Each member was provided with a complete membership list for the 2008-09 Planning Council.

2. The Planning Council minutes page, documenting an unbroken record of 14 years of Planning Council actions, is not only a resource for new members, but also a valuable demonstration (useful for accreditation purposes) of UNCW's ongoing planning process.

3. The 2007-08 Planning Council Annual Report (pdf) is now posted.

4. The Phase I targets for GA accountability measures, discussed at length at the May 6 meeting, were finalized over the summer and submitted to GA in late June.  An information copy of these targets was distributed to members.

Mission Review
     As part of UNC Tomorrow Phase II, each UNC constituent institution is to examine its mission in light of UNC Tomorrow and is "invited to propose revisions to their mission statements consistent with this focus."  Proposed revisions must be accompanied by "a narrative explanation of the proposed mission statement revisions describing the reasons for each proposed change and how the proposed revisions will enable the campus to better achieve the goals of UNC Tomorrow."  Provost Chapman has appointed a Mission Review Committee (Demski, Roer, Spackman) to coordinate this review.  The Mission Review Committee, having already met, distributed a draft timeline for the process of review and a document outlining suggested modifications to UNCW's proposed mission revisions already pending Board of Governors approval.  The broadly participatory process includes an electronic survey of all faculty and staff, as well as undergraduate and graduate student leaders; two open forums; and an approval sequence involving the Planning Council, the Chancellor, the UNCW Board of Trustees, and the UNC Board of Governors.

     The Council engaged in extended discussion about additional modifications of the draft mission statement to be included in the survey.  Issues and questions involved:

The Council entrusted the Mission Review Committee to determine how to handle these issues for purposes of the mission survey.

UNC Tomorrow Phase II update

     Dr. McFarland summarized the requirements of UNC Tomorrow Phase II and highlighted our responsibilities in these five main areas:

He added that GA has announced it will receive biennial budget requests for discretionary spending only for the purposes of safety and UNC Tomorrow priorities.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:20 pm.

Future Meetings  (At 2:00-3:30 pm in AL 215)


September 23, 2008


October 21, 2008


November 4, 2008


December 2, 2008


January 27, 2009


February 24, 2009


March 24, 2009


April 14, 2009


May 5, 2009

Return to Planning Minutes Homepage

UNC Wilmington | 601 S. College Road, Wilmington NC 28403 | 910.962.3000 | About this Site | Copyright Notice | Feedback | Page maintained by:  P. Cameron [ cameronp AT uncw DOT edu ]