Serve on the SMB!


Media Managers

for 2015–2016


Deadline Feb 2


image 475x230

Dustin Miller elected 2014–2015 chairman

Dustin MillerUNCW’s Student Media Board is pleased to announce the election of Dustin Miller as chairman for the 2014–2015 academic year. Miller was elected to the post Oct. 23.

Miller, who is director of media production at UNCW (Office of University Relations), first joined the Student Media Board in 2003 and has served as an advisor to student-run TealTV since 2010. He became a voting member last year. Miller has provided hands-on guidance to TealTV and other students for years at Leutze Hall’s television studio.

The UNCW Student Media Board is Student Media’s governing body, composed of students, faculty, university staff, community professionals and non-voting advisors. The board’s primary responsibilities are budget allocation, advising, advocacy, and helping to ensure the editorial independence and freedom of expression of the student-media organizations it oversees: The Seahawk newspaper, Atlantis magazine, TealTV, and Hawkstream Radio.

The UNCW Student Media Board

The Student Media Board (SMB) is Student Media's governing body. The board coordinates and advises student publications to ensure their effective service to the student body and the university and to protect the rights of the governed organizations to operate free of censorship. Composed of students, faculty, staff, community professionals and non-voting advisers, the SMB also provides budgetary oversight.

Currently four media come under the aegis of the SMB:

Other student-media organizations, funded by SGA, are closely affiliated with the SMB and use the Student Media Center at the Fisher University Union:

  • Flicker Film Society, devoted to film writing, production and reviewing
  • UNCW Photography Club, for students interested in film and digital photography and editing.

The SMB meets monthly in the fall and semi-monthly in the spring.



UNC Wilmington | 601 S. College Road, Wilmington NC 28403 | 910.962.3000 | About this Site | Copyright Notice | Feedback | Page maintained by:  B. DiNome [ dinomeb AT uncw DOT edu ]