Social Work Advisory Board


The Board’s purpose is to ensure that the UNCW School of Social Work remains the southeastern region’s leader in social work education. The Board will advocate for and increase public awareness and support for the SSW through a variety of strategies and venues, including:


The Board was established to promote a dedicated group of community leaders whose primary focus is to support the mission of the UNCW School of Social Work through advocacy. There are no specific term-limits and members are encouraged to continue to serve as many years as desired and/or mutually agreed. The SSW will collect demographic profiles of new and continuing Board members and welcomes recommendations for membership.

The Board members meet with the SSW administrative team, designated faculty, and staff in September, December, February, and May. The Board is also invited to special events, e.g., celebrations, graduations, research seminars and conferences, and community outreach activities.

2013-2014 Advisory Board Members



Jane Albers

PORT Human Services

Lisa Atkins

A Helping Hand of Wilmington

Carol Bennett

Hospice of Lower Cape Fear

Gayle Ginsberg

Senior Resource Center

Morgan Heath

Bridge Builders Counseling

Rick Houston

Domestic Violence/Prevention

LaVaughn Nesmith

New Hanover DSS

Jamie Cuu Nguyen

New Hanover Regional Medical Center

Samantha Nixon

Pender County DSS-CPS

Cathy Noonan

Wayne Memorial

Joe Peters

Hospice of Lower Cape Fear

Carmen Pope

RHA Behavioral Health

Harrison Smith

Retired Air Force

UNC Wilmington | 601 S. College Road, Wilmington NC 28403 | 910.962.3000 | About this Site | Copyright Notice | Feedback | Page maintained by:  C. Miller [ millercle AT uncw DOT edu ]