About Us

The steering committee is composed of staff and students who work closely with students. Our goal is to provide the students with a variety of activities to keep them entertained on the weekends. Here are the members of the committee who are committed to making a difference:


Jon Kapell, Director of Campus Activities & Involvement


Jon is the Director for Campus Activities & Involvement at UNCW. He graduated from West Chester University in Pennsylvania with a bachelor's degree in Communication Studies. He went on to get his master of arts degree in Human Services Administration from Rider University in Lawrenceville, New Jersey. He is a part of this committee because he feels that a healthy university offers programs on the weekends just as much on the weekdays. He also enjoys working with the committee to plan and implement fun and innovative programs for the students at UNCW.

Erica Brinsfield, Campus Activities & Involvement Graduate Assistant


Erica is the Graduate Assistant for Campus Activities & Involvement at UNCW. She graduated from Fairmont State University in West Virginia with a bachelor's degree in Elementary Education. She is now pursing her graduate degree at UNCW for Literacy and Language in the Watson College of Education. She is a part of this committee because she enjoys working with students of all ages and assiting with the implementation of events on and off campus. She loves the programs objectives, goals, and the students dedication to the committee.


Committee Members

Devin Barlaan : Lead Facilitator/Recruitment Chair


Hello! My name is Devin Barlaan and I am a Junior here at UNCW majoring in Psychology and minoring in Leadership. I am your Lead Facilitator for UNCWeekends because my active involvement in Weekends since the spring semester of my sophomore year has allowed me to grow to love this organization. On the side, I also enjoy photography, cupcakes and the movie Despicable Me! My favorite UNCWeekends is Wag Bingo and hope to see you there!

Committee Members

Shannon Gallagher- Programming Co-Chair

Hanna Braun-Secretary

Auelie Krakowsky-Chair of External Relations

Tessa Pfeifer-Operations Chair

Morgan Grendahl-Marketing Chair

Tiffany Pearce

Dalton Jackson

Alexandra Curtis

Alexus McGriff

Brieanna Phipps

Carolyn Patton

Dalton Jackson

Giovanni Ellzey

Kaleigh Knill

Lyanne Anderson

Michelle Myers

Shannon Hefferon

Shelby Rodden

Savannah Zeaches

Taylor Harvery

Maura Johnson

Laura Parson

UNC Wilmington | 601 S. College Road, Wilmington NC 28403 | 910.962.3000 | About this Site | Copyright Notice | Feedback | Page maintained by:  J. Kapell [ kapellj AT uncw DOT edu ]