Anthropology

ANT faculty

Anthropology Faculty

Dr. Eleanora (Nora) Reber
Associate Professor of Archaeology, Chair

rebere@uncw.edu
Phone: 910.962.7734
Office: Osprey Hall 1018L

Research Focus:
Pottery residue, Southeastern Archaeology, plant domestication, ancient foodways, rise of complex societies

Education:
PhD, Anthropology, Harvard University, 2001
MA, Anthropology, Harvard University, 2001
BS, Archaeology and Chemistry, Beloit College, 1995

Dr. A. Midori Albert
Professor of Biological Anthropology
Forensic Science Minor Coordinator

albertm@uncw.edu
Phone: 910.962.7078
Office: Osprey Hall 1018C

Research Focus:
Forensic Anthropology, Age-related craniofacial morphological variation in face recognition technology, skeletal age estimation, bilateral asymmetry in growth and maturation

Education:
PhD, Anthropology, University of Colorado Boulder, 1995
MA, Anthropology, University of Florida, 1993
BS, Psychology, University of Florida, 1990

Dr. Scott E. Simmons
Professor of Archaeology

simmonss@uncw.edu
Phone: 910.962.3429
Office: Osprey Hall 1018K

Research Focus:
Mayan Archaeology, Archaeometallurgy, Coastal trade, political economy

Education:
PhD, Anthropology, University of Colorado Boulder, 1996
MA, Historical Archaeology, University of Massachusetts, 1991
BA, Anthropology, State University of New York Plattsburgh, 1984

Dr. William L. Alexander
Associate Professor of Cultural Anthropology

alexanderw@uncw.edu
Phone: 910.962.2227
Office: Osprey Hall 1018H

Research Focus:
Political Ecology, Economic Anthropology, Environmental Anthropology, Political Economy, Latin America (Chile, US/Mexico border), Migrant farmworkers in North Carolina. West Africa (Cameroon)

Education:
PhD, Anthropology, University of Arizona, 2000
MA, Anthropology, University of Arizona, 1989
BS, University of Southern Mississippi, 1985

Dr. Carolyn Jost Robinson
Assistant Professor of Biological Anthropology

robinsonc@uncw.edu
Phone: 910.962.3532
Office: Osprey Hall 1018F

Research Focus:
Ethnoprimatology, Multispecies Ethnography, Human Behavioral Ecology, Primatology, Political Ecology, Cameroon (West Africa), Central African Republic

Education:
PhD, Anthropology, Purdue University, 2012
MS, Anthropology, Purdue University
BA, Anthropology, University of Colorado Boulder

Dr. Michaela Howells
Assistant Professor of Biological Anthropology

howellsm@uncw.edu
Phone: 910.962.3431
Office: Osprey Hall 1018D

Research Focus:
Reproduction, Maternal & Child health, Intergenerational effects of stress, Growth & Development: Human Variation, Medical Anthropology, Health Education, Status inequality, American Samoa, Senegal, Indonesia

Education:
PhD, Anthropology, University of Colorado Boulder, 2013
Certificate in College Teaching, University of Colorado Boulder, 2013
MA, Anthropology, Iowa State University, 2006
BA, Anthropology, Central Washington State University, 2002
BS, Primate Behavior & Ecology, Central Washington State University, 2002

Dr. Hikmet Kocamaner
Assistant Professor of Cultural Anthropology

kocamanerh@uncw.edu
Phone: 910.962.3705
Office: Osprey Hall 1018G

Research Focus:

Education:
PhD, Anthropology & Middle Eastern and North African Studies, University of Arizona, 2014
MA, English Literature, Middle East Technical University (Ankara, Turkey), 2005
BA, English Language and Literature, Hacettepe University (Ankara, Turkey), 2001

Dr. Barbara Michael
Adjunct Faculty in Cultural Anthropology

michaelb@uncw.edu
Office: Osprey Hall 1018B

Research Focus:
Middle East Anthropology, Pastoralists/Nomads Documentary Filmmaking, Economic Anthropology, Traditional Medicine, Visual Anthropology; Museums

Education:
PhD, Anthropology, University of Kansas, 1987
MA, Anthropology, University of Oklahoma
BA, Anthropology, University of Oklahoma
MLS, Library Science, University of Oklahoma
Certificate in Documentary Film, Duke University, 2007

John Navarra
Adjunct Faculty in Anthropology

navarraj@uncw.edu
Office: Osprey Hall 1018B

Research Focus:
Osteology, Cultural Resistance Movements & Government Manipulation of Western Society

Education:
MA, Anthropology, East Carolina University, 2006
BA, Anthropology, University of North Carolina Wilmington, 2003

Elizabeth Penton
Adjunct Faculty in Cultural Anthropology

pentone@uncw.edu

Research Focus:
Non-western & Prehistoric Image Making

Melissa A. Torpey
Adjunct Faculty in Biological Anthropology

torpeym@uncw.edu

Research Focus:
Forensic Anthropology, Skeletal Age Estimation, Human Identification Techniques

Education:
MS in Forensic Anthropology, Michigan State University, 2006
BA, Anthropology, University of North Carolina Wilmington, 2004

Dr. Cynthia Bellacero
Part-time Faculty of Archaeology

bellaceroc@uncw.edu

Research Focus:
Mesoamerican Archaeology, Archaeobotany, Underwater Archaeology, Historic Archaeology

Education:
PhD, Anthropology, Florida State University, 2010
MA, Anthropology, East Carolina University, 2004
BS, Anthropology, East Carolina University, 2001

Anthropology Staff

 Vacant
 Administrative Associate


 Phone: 910.962.7716
Office: Osprey Hall 1018E
Anthropology Campus Box: 5907

Emeritus Faculty

James C. Sabella
Professor Emeritus

sabellaj@uncw.edu

Robert D. McCall
Professor Emeritus

mccall@uncw.edu

Patricia B. Lerch
Professor Emeritus

lerch@uncw.edu