Faculty Specialties and Research Interests

Jale Aldemir Dr. Jale Aldemir
aldemirj@uncw.edu

910-960-2919
Teacher Education, Curriculum and Instruction; Technology Integration; Preservice Teachers' Beliefs; Democracy in Early Childhood
Alicia Brophy Dr. Alicia Brophy-Dick 
brophya@uncw.edu

910-962-3365
Social Skills; Diverse Learners; Instructional Strategies for Students with Learning Disabilities; Collaboration Between Schools and Families; Instructional Technology; Classroom Management; At-Risk Learners; Response to Intervention; Diagnostic Techniques
Lisa Buchanan Dr. Lisa Buchanan
buchananl@uncw.edu

910-962-2890
Elementary Teacher Education; particular interests in Elementary Social Studies and Literacy Education
Elizabeth Crawford Dr. Elizabeth Crawford
crawforde@uncw.edu

910-962-2916
Curriculum Design; Humane Education; Global Education; Solutionary Education; Technology Integration
Kathy Fox Dr. Kathy Fox
foxk@uncw.edu

910-962-3240
Second Language Development and Literacy; Family Literacy; Children's Literature especially those reflecting diversity
Tracy Hargrove Dr. Tracy Hargrove
hargrovet@uncw.edu

910-962-7395
Authentic Assessment; Standards-Based Education; High-Stakes Testing; Infusion of Technology into the Curriculum
Heidi Higgins Dr. Heidi Higgins
higginsh@uncw.edu

910-962-2674
Mathematics Education in Elementary and Early Childhood Education; Quantitative Literacy; Teaching Mathematics for Social Justice; and Intellectual Development
Jeremy Hilburn Dr. Jeremy Hilburn
hilburnj@uncw.edu

910-962-2897
Social Studies; Immigration and Education; Teacher Education; Primary research interest is social studies curriculum and pedagogy specific to immigrant students in new gateway states. A second, complimentary strand relates to spatial citizenship education.
Barbara Honchell Dr. Barbara Honchell
honchellb@uncw.edu

910-962-3382
Literacy Assessment; Reading Recovery Training and Implementation; Language and Literacy Acquisition
Allison Jones Dr. Allison Jones
jonesar@uncw.edu

910-962-2194
Transition of Students with Disabilities into Employment; Independent Living; and Post-Secondary Education; Self-determination; Cultural Diversity and Special Education
Dr. Meredith Jones
jonesmk@uncw.edu
910-962-3724
Father and Family Engagement in the Early Childhood Years, Developmentally Appropriate Practices in Early Childhood Education, and Early Childhood Teacher Preparation
Chuck Jurich Dr. Chuck Jurich
jurichc@uncw.edu

910-962-7201
New Literacies; Multimodal Literacies; Critical Literacies; Teacher Education; Reading and writing multimodal texts; Shared authorship; Sociocultural perspectives to literacy development; Digital media and learning; New Literacy Studies (NLS); Media literacy and popular culture; Critical literacy
Dr. George Kamberelis
kamberelisg@uncw.edu
910-962-2918
Early Literacy Learning and Development, Genre Studies, Classroom Discourse, Disciplinary Literacies, Literacy and Diversity, Philosophy of Science, Qualitative Inquiry
Hengmeh Kermani Dr. Hengameh Kermani
kermanih@uncw.edu

910-962-4182
Early Childhood Education; Social and Cognitive Bases of Mother-Child Interaction; Peer Tutoring; Emergent Literacy and Numeracy; Family Literacy; Technology Integration in Early Learning Environments
Martin Kozloff Dr. Martin Kozloff
kozloffm@uncw.edu
910-962-7286
Methods and curriculum for children with autism and their families. Instructional design. Tutoring in reading for young minority children.
Dr. Brooke Langston-Demott
langstondemottb@uncw.edu
910-962-3507
Literacy Education with particular interests in Critical Literacy, Children’s Literature, and Writing; Teacher Education; Elementary Education; Gender and Education; Qualitative Inquiry; Formative and Design Based Research
Lou Lanunziata Dr. Lou Lanunziata
lanunziatal@uncw.edu

910-962-3368
Learning and Behavioral Disorders (BEH/LD/MR); Emotional Disturbance; Applied Behavioral Analysis; Social Learning Theory; Behavior Management; Behavior Measurement; BEH Programming
Christine Liao Dr. Christine Liao
liaoc@uncw.edu

910-962-3556
Identity, Embodiment, and Gender and Technology; New Media Art and Pedagogy/Curriculum; Technology in Art Education/STEAM; Research Methodologies- Arts-Based Research/Narrative Inquiry/Autoethnography
Dr. Carol McNulty
mcnultycp@uncw.edu
910-962-3361
Elementary Education; Social Studies; Cultural Diversity; Students at risk for delinquency
Linda Mechling Dr. Linda Mechling
mechlingl@uncw.edu

910-962-7736
Special Education - Moderate; Severe; and Profound Intellectual Disabilities; Autism Spectrum Disorders; ; Assistive Technology for Persons with Disabilities; Community-Based Instruction; Video-Based Instruction
Amy Moody Dr. Amelia Moody
moodya@uncw.edu

910-962-2580
Early Childhood Special Education; Assistive Technology; and Emergent Literacy
Shelby Morge Dr. Shelby Morge
morges@uncw.edu

910-962-4501
Mathematics Education - specifically mathematics-related beliefs and their influences on teaching and learning; mathematics teacher education and professional development; the use of technology for teaching and learning mathematics; and the use of assessment for mathematics professional development and instruction
Kathy Roney Dr. Kathleen Roney
roneyk@uncw.edu

910-962-7195
Middle School Reform: Characteristics of Effective Teaching; Strategies and Relationships in Effective Teaching; Teacher Education; Culturally Relevant Teaching and Critical Pedagogy; Educational Research: Qualitative Design-Action Research; Case Study Methodology; Professional Preparation Programs for School Administrators; Leadership for Social Justice and Equity; Theory and Practice in Educational Administration
Katie Schlichting Dr. Kathleen Schlichting
schlichtingk@uncw.edu

910-962-7786
Language and Literacy Development, The impact that Children's and Adolescent Literature has on student's language and literacy development, Using Authors as Literacy Mentors, Culturally-responsive pedagogy, Meeting the needs of children who reside in fragile environments by providing community-based field experiences that support understanding and awareness and encourage advocacy.
Crystalyn Schnorr Dr. Crystalyn Schnorr-Goodnight
schnorrc@uncw.edu
910-962-2658
Instructional Coaching; Instructional Strategies for Students At Risk or with Disabilities; Beginning Reading Instruction; Direct Instruction; Response to Intervention
Dr. Amy Senta
sentaa@uncw.edu
910-962-2851
Social Foundations of Education, Qualitative Research Methodologies, Participatory Classroom Research, Elementary Education, Teacher Education for Diversity and Equity
Lynn Sikma Dr. Lynn Sikma
sikmal@uncw.edu

910-962-7287
Teacher Education; Elementary Education; STEM; Social Networks; Organizational Culture; Novice Teacher Needs; Distributed Leadership
Dr. James Stocker
stockerj@uncw.edu
910-962-2739
Mathematics, STEM, Applied Behavior Analysis, Inclusion, Tiered Systems of Support
Jeanne Swafford Dr. Jeanne Swafford
swaffordj@uncw.edu

910-962-7790
Content Area Literacy in the Elementary Grades; Children's Literature; Nonfiction Genres; Comprehension Instruction
Amy Taylor Dr. Amy Taylor
taylorar@uncw.edu

910-962-2673
Professional development for science teachers (K-12) about: Teaching Science through Inquiry, Population Connections Curriculum, Science Notebooks Vs Science Journals, Teaching Science at the Extremes
Brad Walker Dr. Brad Walker
walkerb@uncw.edu

910-962-3718
Reading Education; Language Arts; Writing; Elementary Education Curriculum and Instruction; School Administration; Whole Language
Cara Ward Dr. Cara Ward
wardcf@uncw.edu

K-12 Social Studies Education Methods and 9-12 Blended Learning Models

Martin Wasserberg Dr. Martin Wasserberg
wasserbergm@uncw.edu

910-962-2917
Racial and Gender Stereotyping; Urban Education; Student Engagement; Standardized Testing Achievement Gap; Elementary Education