Department of History

Faculty          —          Adjunct Faculty         —         Emeritus Faculty


Faculty


Mollenauer Lynn W. Mollenauer, Ph.D., Department Chair and Associate Professor

Early Modern French History

Email: mollenauerl@uncw.edu
Office: Morton Hall, 232
Bredbenner

Candice Bredbenner, Ph.D., Associate Professor and Undergraduate Coordinator

Progressive and Interwar Era

Email: bredbennerc@uncw.edu
Office: Morton Hall, 259

Chen

Yixin Chen, Ph.D., Associate Professor

Twentieth Century Chinese History

E-mail: cheny@uncw.edu
Office: Morton Hall, 230

Conser

Walter Conser, Ph.D., Professor

American Religious History

Phone: (910) 962-7369
Email: conserw@uncw.edu
Office: Bear Hall, 274

Crowe

Nathan Crowe, Ph.D., Assistant Professor

History of Science

Email: crowen@uncw.edu
Office: Morton Hall, 228

Venkat Dhulipala

Venkat Dhulipala, Ph.D., Associate Professor

History of Modern South Asia

Email: dhulipalav@uncw.edu
Office: Morton Hall, 257

FainProfile

W. Taylor Fain, Ph.D., Associate Professor and Graduate Coordinator

America in the World; International History

E-mail: fainwt@uncw.edu
Office: Morton Hall, 260

ChrisF

Chris E. Fonvielle, Ph.D., Associate Professor 

American Civil War; North Carolina, Lower Cape Fear and Southern History

Email: fonviellec@uncw.edu
Office: Morton Hall, 261

Bei Gao Bei, Ph.D., Assistant Professor (joint appointment with International Studies)

Modern East Asian History

Email: gaob@uncw.edu
Office: Leutze Hall, 218
Gisolfi

Monica Gisolfi, Ph.D., Associate Professor

History of the American South; Environmental history

Email: gisolfim@uncw.edu
Office: Morton Hall, 263

Harris

Glen A. Harris, Ph.D., Associate Professor

African American History; U.S.. History; Harlem Rrenaissance; Civil Rights Movement; Hollywood and Black Film

Email: harrisg@uncw.edu
Office: Morton Hall, 258

Hart_Rob

T. Robert HartPh.D., Lecturer

Environmental History; Southern history

Email: hartt@uncw.edu
Office: Morton Hall, 253

Kisrshke

Amy Helene Kirschke, Ph.D., Professor and Chair of Art & Art History

African American Art; 20th C. Art; African Art; Contemporary

Email: kirschkea@uncw.edu
Office: Cultural Arts Bldg, 1048

Lavere

David La Vere, Ph.D., Professor

Southeastern and North Carolina Indians; Southern Plains

Email: lavered@uncw.edu
Office: Morton Hall, 233

Lezotte Profile pic

Jennifer Le Zotte, Ph.D., Assistant Professor

Public History; Modern United States Culture and Capitalism

Email: lezottej@uncw.edu
Office: Morton Hall, 226

McCaffray

Susan P. McCaffray, Ph.D., Professor

Russian History; Soviet Union; Nineteenth Century Europe

Email: mccaffrays@uncw.edu
Office: Morton Hall, 234

McFarland

Stephen McFarland, Ph.D. Professor

History of flight, technology, and the Middle East

Email: mcfarlands@uncw.edu
Office: Morton Hall, 225

Mehl

Eva Mehl, Ph.D., Associate Professor

Latin American History

Email: mehle@uncw.edu
Office: Morton Hall, 229

Seidman

Michael M. Seidman, Ph.D., Professor

Modern Europe and Social/Individual History

Email: seidmanm@uncw.edu
Office: Morton Hall, 231

Shefsiek

Kenneth P. Shefsiek, Ph.D., Assistant Professor

Public History and Colonial U.S.

Email: shefsiekk@uncw.edu
Office: Morton Hall, 264

Spaulding

Robert Mark Spaulding, Ph.D., Professor

Germany, European Political Economy, Global Trade

Email: spauldingr@uncw.edu
Office: Morton Hall, 227

Tanny

Jarrod Tanny, Ph.D., Associate Professor and Charles & Hannah Block Distinguised Scholar in Jewish History

Russian-Jewish History

Email: tannyj@uncw.edu
Office: Morton Hall, 254

Towenend Paul Townend, Ph.D., Associate Vice Chancellor and Dean of Undergraduate Studies

Modern And Early British and Irish History

Email: townendp@uncw.edu
Office: Alderman 110C
Usilton Larry Usilton, Ph.D., Professor

Ancient and Medieval Western Civilization

Email: usiltonl@uncw.edu
Office: Morton Hall, 224

Adjunct Faculty

Nana Amponsah, Ph.D.

Email: amponsahn@uncw.edu

Ryan Chapman, M.A.

Email: chapmanrj@uncw.edu
Office: Morton Hall, 221

Joseph P. Gouverneur, Ph.D.

Email: gouverneurj@uncw.edu
Office: Morton Hall, 220

Matthew Hassett, M.A.

Email: hassetm@uncw.edu
Office: Morton 270

Donald Johnson, M.D., M.A.

Email: johnsondg@uncw.edu
Office: Morton Hall, 223

Christine Lamberton, M.A.

Email: lambertonc@uncw.edu
Office: Morton Hall, 222

Christopher Laursen, Ph.D.

Email: laursenc@uncw.edu
Office: Morton Hall, 211

Emeritus Faculty

Kathleen A. Berkeley, Ph.D.

Melton McLaurin, Ph.D.

Lisa Pollard, Ph.D.

Robert Toplin, Ph.D.

Alan Watson, Ph.D.