William A. Sederburg

William A. Sederburg 

Interim Chancellor

University of North Carolina Wilmington

Dr. William A. Sederburg was selected by the University of North Carolina system president to serve as interim chancellor of the University of North Carolina Wilmington during its national search for a permanent chancellor. Dr. Sederburg brought a wealth of experience to the role, having served as commissioner of the Utah System of Higher Education (2008-12), president of Utah Valley State College (2003-08) and president of Ferris State University in Michigan (1994-2003). After retiring as commissioner, Dr. Sederburg was named a senior scholar with the American Association of State Colleges and Universities, an organization that represents 430 regional state colleges and universities, including UNCW.

Previous to his career in higher education, Dr. Sederburg served in the Michigan State Senate (1978-91). Dr. Sederburg, a Minnesota native who came to UNCW by way of Asheville, NC, where he and his wife Joyce plan to enjoy their retirement, received his bachelor's degree from Mankato State University and earned master's and doctoral degrees in political science from Michigan State University. After completing a postdoctoral fellowship, he joined the staff of the Michigan House Republican Caucus (1975-78), serving as director of research and programs and then as its executive director.

While at UNCW, Dr. Sederburg involved administrators, faculty, staff and students in developing cohesive strategies that focused on the future in several key areas, including academic leadership, community engagement, diversity programs and athletics. Under his leadership, the university selected two collegiate deans, a chief diversity officer and an interim provost, among other key appointments. The university earned the 2015 Community Engagement Classification from the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching, and the UNC Board of Governors granted UNCW approval for a Master of Fine Arts degree in filmmaking (MFA), which will be housed in the College of Arts and Sciences' Department of Film Studies.