Department of Music


Music Ensmbles

Ensembles are open to all UNCW students with instrumental or vocal experience. Register for ensembles on SeaNet (unless otherwise noted). For more information, go online or come to the Music Ensemble Fair on Aug. 14.

Band

Symphonic Band MUS 185
Symphonic Band performs the finest literature available for winds, including traditional wind band repertoire, marches, transcriptions and the newest 21st-century works; two concerts each semester, featuring guest soloists and guest conductors. Membership is open to all UNCW students with previous band experience.
Instructor: Dominic Talanca  talancad@uncw.edu

PEP BAND
UNCW’s primary athletic band provides music and school spirit at men’s and women’s basketball home games and travels to post-season tournaments with the teams. Membership is open to all UNCW students with previous band experience, and scholarship awards ($) are available for attendance at games and tournaments. Members also enrolling in Symphonic Band for both fall and spring semesters are eligible for additional scholarship awards.
Instructor: Dominic Talanca talancad@uncw.edu

Choral

CONCERT CHOIR MUS 186
Concert Choir is a mixed chorus that performs twice each semester on campus or in the community, with the size of each section determined by the balance of the entire group. The ensemble is open to all UNCW students with previous choral experience; auditions to determine vocal classification are requested.
Instructor: Dr. Joe Hickman hickmanj@uncw.edu

CHAMBER CHOIR MUS 183
Chamber Choir performances include local concerts, short tours during the year, and radio and television appearances. Enrollment is limited to those approved by the director before registration.Membership is by audition and is open to all UNCW students with previous choral experience who can sing their parts completely independently.
Instructor: Dr. Joe Hickman hickmanj@uncw.edu

Jazz

JAZZ ENSEMBLE I MUS 184-001
Composed of students from throughout the university, music majors and minors, as well as non-majors, Jazz Ensemble I performs a variety of jazz music from swing to mainstream jazz and has established a tradition of musical excellence in jazz with performances at home and abroad. Open to all UNCW students with instrumental experience (previous jazz experience is helpful, but not required). Auditions for placement within are held at the beginning of each semester.
Instructor: Michael D'Angelo dangelom@uncw.edu

Jazz Combo MUS 189-001
Latin Jazz Combo MUS 189-002

Performing the most current small group jazz, the jazz combos have garnered numerous awards and have been invited to perform at prestigious jazz festivals throughout the world. Membership is by audition and is open to all UNCW students with previous jazz band experience.
Instructor (Jazz Combo): Jerald Shynett shynettj@uncw.edu
Instructor (Latin Jazz Combo): Natalie Boeyink boeyink@uncw.edu

Strings

WILMINGTON SYMPHONEY ORCHESTRA MUS 187-001
Wilmington Symphony Orchestra emphasizes the study and performance of classical and popular orchestral literature. Open to advanced students by audition. For information, visit www.wilmingtonsymphony.org and choose Musicians/Audition Information.
Insructor: Steven Errante errantes@uncw.edu

STRING ENSEMBLE MUS 187-002
Membership is open to all UNCW students with previous string experience; no audition is necessary. The ensemble presents two concerts each semester, performing string orchestral literature from all musical periods.
Instructor: Clark Spencer spencercs@uncw.edu

CHAMBER MUSIC WORKSHOPS

PIANO, STRING, CLASSICAL GUITAR, FLUTE, SAXOPHONE, OPERA

Instructor (piano): Barry Salwen salwenb@uncw.edu
Instructor (string): Danijela Žeželj-Gualdi gualdid@uncw.edu
Instructor (classical guitar): Justin Hoke hokej@uncw.edu
Instructor (flute): Mary Jo White whitemj@uncw.edu
Intructor (saxophone): Frank Bongiorno bongiornof@uncw.edu
Instructor (opera): Nancy King kingn@uncw.edu