Sociology and Criminology


graduation 2015

Commencement 2016

Spring 2016 Department Commencement Ceremony

Saturday May 7th, 3:30 pm Warwick Center Ballroom

Every year the Sociology and Criminology Department holds our own departmental graduation ceremony in order to give the students an opportunity to celebrate with family, friends, and their classmates and professors in a more intimate setting. This year, like every year we took the time to bid our students goodbye and good luck as they leave UNCW. The following students were recognized for their excellence in achievement for the Fall 2015 Commencement.

Fall 2015 Commencement

Student Awards

  • John H. Scalf, Jr. Outstanding Sociology Graduate Award
    *** Melinda Kay Kanoy
    Sociology Academic Excellence Award
    ***Josey Lee-Ann Newman
    Criminology Academic Excellence Award
    *** †Christian Franklin Roberts & ** †Lauren Elizabeth Gartland
    Criminology Student of the Year Award
    *Sydney Kate Ellers
    Student Speaker
    Christopher Lloyd Parker
    Name Reader
    Kathryn Lorraine Burnham

Double Majors


1. Criminology

† Honors Graduate

2. Sociology

*** Summa Cum Laude

3. Spanish

** Magna Cum Laude

* Cum Laude

Our Fall 2015 Graduates

Masters in Criminology and Public Sociology

** Erin Marie O'Donnell

Sociology General

Joshua Thomas Bass 1 Montez Dubois Downey Saher Mohamed

Mitchell Boles

Jonathan Bradley Everette ***Josey Lee-Ann Newman
Elizabeth Holden Corcoran Terrance Claude Hampton Christopher Lloyd Parker
Krystal Lina Diaz ***Melinda Kay Kanoy Meiraf S Zekaryas
Mary Elizabeth Dills

Public Sociology & Criminal Justice

Vicki Elaine Smolsen Lisa Marie Stokley


Miranda Paige Britt

Zachary Shane Godwin ***†Christian Franklin Roberts
Kasey William Brown Zoe Kathleen Guarino Mathew Ryan Rose 2
Susan Ashley Burwell Brandi L Herring Samantha Audrey Rosa
Ryan Joseph Calabro Taylor Nicole Houk Charles Robert Sahanas 3
Mitchell Thomas Coggins *Edmund Alexander Evans Hughes Christopher Wayne Smith 2
Devin Michael Corso Jessica Marie Hughes Matthew Clarke Smith
Devonnea Nichole Curtis Anthony Garrett Inman **Rebekah Diane Snyder
Alex Davidson Ariana Kelly Jane Marie Sosinski
Ryan Dickerson Derek Anthony Leagan Sabrina Stanley
Mark John Dolak *Suzette Hahn Lemmond Spencer Bill Tayloe
Austin J Dow Michael Develle Lewis **Tania Varela
Taneka Vonshee Dozier **Matthew McLane *Michael Carlin Veit
Kaitlyn Whitney Edwards William Andrew Meade *Jesse Aaron Waterfield
*Sydney Kate Ellers Shquanda Ayeisha Meylor-Moncace Rachel Nicole Whidden
*Adam Charles Ferguson Philip J Mulligan *Rachel Alexandria Wilber
Kassie Nicole Fuchs Jessica L Murray Lacey Marie Wilson
Joshua Ryan Fulbright Travis James Musselman *Carrie Angela Wright
**† Lauren Elizabeth Gartland Violeta Perez-Villa 3
Earic Denoria Gayfield Alicia Irene Polites

Give Today

Giving to the Department of Sociology
and Criminology

Welcome to the Department of Sociology and Criminology in the College of Arts and Sciences at UNCW.Annual or one-time gifts designated to the department support student scholarships and hands-on applied learning experiences, like the WHA-UNCW Community Campus, that prepares students for successful internships and post graduate careers. Please visit for several ways to make a tax-deductible gift to UNCW in support of Sociology and Criminology department.

For more information, visit Or contact Kathy Parish, 910-962-3432

graduation 2015

graduation 2015

graduation 2015

graduation 2015