Creative Writing

Department Chair & Staff

David Gessner

David Gessner, professor & department chair
and Ecotone editor-in-chief
creative nonfiction

gessnerdm@uncw.edu
910.962.7489

Megan Hubbard

Megan Hubbard, department administrator

hubbardm@uncw.edu
910.962.7063

Lisa Bertini

Lisa Bertini, MFA program assistant

bertinil@uncw.edu
910.962.3070

Faculty Profiles

Tim Bass

Tim Bass, senior lecturer, BFA coordinator & outreach coordinator
creative nonfiction/fiction

basst@uncw.edu
910.962.7711

Wendy Brenner

Wendy Brenner, associate professor
fiction/creative nonfiction

brennerw@uncw.edu
910.962.3782

Chai

May-lee Chai, assistant professor
creative nonfiction/fiction

chaiml@uncw.edu
910.962.7305

Mark Cox

Mark Cox, professor and MFA coordinator
poetry

coxm@uncw.edu
910.962.3331

NdG

Nina de Gramont, associate professor
fiction

degramontm@uncw.edu
910.962.3426

Clyde Edgerton

Clyde Edgerton, professor and recipient of
Thomas S. Kenan III Distinguished Professorship
fiction/nonfiction

edgertonc@uncw.edu

Philip Furia

Philip Furia, professor
creative nonfiction

furiap@uncw.edu
910.962.3321

Jill Gerard

Jill Gerard, Chautauqua co-editor

gerardj@uncw.edu
910.962.3650

Philip Gerard

Philip Gerard, professor & Chautauqua co-editor
fiction/creative nonfiction

gerardp@uncw.edu
910.962.3329

Virginia Holman

Virginia Holman, lecturer
creative nonfiction

holmanv@uncw.edu
910.962.3437

Lee

Rebecca Lee, associate professor
fiction/creative nonfiction

leer@uncw.edu
910.962.3266

MM

Malena Mörling, professor
poetry

morlingm@uncw.edu
910.962.7841

Jason Mott

Jason Mott, writer-in-residence, 2016-2019

Anna Lena Phillips

Anna Lena Phillips Bell, lecturer and
editor, Ecotone and Lookout Books


phillipsal@uncw.edu
910.962.7651

Robert Siegel

Robert Anthony Siegel, associate professor
fiction/creative nonfiction

siegelr@uncw.edu
910.962.7596

ELS

Emily Louise Smith, senior lecturer and director
of The Publishing Laboratory
publisher, Ecotone and Lookout Books

smithel@uncw.edu
910.962.7401

Beth Staples

Beth Staples, lecturer and assistant director
of The Publishing Laboratory
associate editor, Ecotone and Lookout Books

staplesb@uncw.edu
910.962.7950

Michael White

Michael White, professor
poetry

whitem@uncw.edu
910.962.3519